PDA

View Full Version : Discovery I Brake Job

bblake12
11-06-2006, 08:27 PM
I am tempted to replace the front and rear rotors on my 1997 Discovery. This might seem simple to some of you but I am not a mechanic and I am a little unsure but it appears to be pretty straightforward. I have replaced the pads once but not the rotors.

A couple of questions -

1. Is this an afternoon job for a first timer ?
2. Other than socket wrenches, are there any specialized tools I need ?
3. I know that one of my front calipers is possibly seized, should I attempt a rebuild or replace ?
4. Does anyone have any photo's of this type of job ?
5. I have a 1997 Disco with the advanced evap system if that makes a difference

Any information would be appreciated

Bryan Blake

Mike Koch
11-07-2006, 08:29 AM
Greetings,

Good questions!

First, you'll need a hub nut tool(2 1/16" socket). Rovers North sells this under part number RNF406.
http://www.roversnorth.com/store/images/Product/medium/RNF406.jpg
http://www.roversnorth.com/store/p-6608-hub-nut-tool-2-116-stamped-steel.aspx (http://www.roversnorth.com/forums/../store/p-6608-hub-nut-tool-2-116-stamped-steel.aspx)

When the rotors are replaced, you'll need new hub seals b/c I have yet to remove an old hub seal from a rotor without damaging it. Rovers North sells them in a kit under part number RNK5623(you'll need one per wheel).
http://www.roversnorth.com/store/images/Product/medium/RNK5623.jpg
http://www.roversnorth.com/store/p-5565-hub-seal-kit-93-onward-rr-defender-discovery.aspx (http://www.roversnorth.com/forums/../store/p-5565-hub-seal-kit-93-onward-rr-defender-discovery.aspx)

While you're in there, you'll have the opportunity to clean your wheel bearings and repack them with grease. If they are worn out, now is a opportune time to replace them. Rovers North sells them under part number RNH003(you'll need two per wheel).