PDA

View Full Version : 98 Need electrical help

garover1
01-21-2008, 10:16 PM
Trying to find a common link between the radio, clock, interior dome lights. All of these are now not working after I removed an aftermarket phone hook up. All dash fuses are good. I've tried to find anyplace under the dash where the phone might have been spliced into a common power source but I got nothing.

garover1
01-27-2008, 10:00 PM
Today when I started the enhine the key bezel light and the radio were pulsing and an odd sound was coming from under the dash on the passenger side. The cigar lighter does work so it's just the dome lights and radio not working and the key bezel stays lit all the time.

Ron T.
01-30-2008, 12:08 AM
I'm new to this, just picked up my 97 Discovery last April. Question, when you mentioned the radio did you mean the radio or the radio lighting? From what i see in the Hayes manual, all of the cold (ground) side of the lights you've mentioned is controlled by multifunction unit, apparently a purple blue wire going into B/24/4. But, if I'm reading the wiring diagram correctly, there appears to be a splice point or terminal where not less than five purple/blue wires join. It may be that the phone lighting was tied into this point. It is interesting that the British controlled the lighting on the cold side of the lamps, rather than on the hot side.

garover1
01-31-2008, 07:58 PM