Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "overheating" problem

Default "overheating" problem

I have a 68 series IIa ive been working on for the past 4 or 5 months and just recently got it on the road. I got the gauges and everything hooked up and started to notice that when under load, the temperature rises, then goes back down when at idle. I read that this might be a problem with the voltage stabilizer? Also notice that the fuel gauge will go all the way down with the temp gauge when at idle occasionally, then rise back up together when load increase and I feel that these might be related? Just curious to see if anyone could shed some more light on the subject, I searched around a bit and might have just over looked the answer, but I'm feeling a little bit better knowing that it might not actually be overheating.

also since this is my first post I figured I would share a picture of her, shes come a long ways but still has a ways to go

first is the day she got trailed back after sitting for a few years outside, second is current day.

thanks in advance
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	482579_2134947939873_1277207975_n.jpg 
Views:	298 
Size:	79.5 KB 
ID:	9782   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo.jpg 
Views:	299 
Size:	140.9 KB 
ID:	9783  

Do you have an alternator or a generator (this is a "pick one" question, not a "yes or no" question).
    --Mark

1973 SIII 109 RHD 2.5NA Diesel

0-54mph in just under 11.5 minutes
    (9.7 minutes now that she's a 3-door).

generator, thought about going the alternator route for awhile, but decided to stick with the generator for now after figuring out my "charging issue" was just a wire that had fallen off along the way. I also re read my original post and noticed it said regulator, I meant to say stabilizer, the voltage regulator got replaced and haven't had any issues with that, I just got the two mixed up