Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Setting Ign Timing on 63IIA

Default Setting Ign Timing on 63IIA

I've got a light, and know how to use it, but I am not sure with the age of these vehicles and quality of gas, a light is the best method, and being that I am somewhat new to the series trucks, can someone please explain to me how set the timing "static" and what the hell the timing adjustment screw is on the distributor and how to use it????

I figured I'd get it correct via static, then adjust until it pings and then just back off until no more pinging....

tim
    Tim
    63 IIA 88" (Beach with the dogs)
    05 L322 (Daily)
    95 RRC SWB
    05 E320 (Wife)
    86 930 (Rush on boost, 400HP and climbing....)
    A few boring BMW's for the kids (E30, E36, E46, E53)

For the static timing, reference the Green Bible for adjustment. If original 63 specs, you should not have a timing pointer & mark on the crank pulley - you will need to set static through the inspection opening on the bellhousing.

The adjustment screw on the dist is fairly self-explanatory. Turn it in the direction of "A" for advance or "R" for retard. Use it to fine tune so that it just starts to ping when pulling a decent grade in high gear.

Similar discussion here at the moment:
    http://forums.roversnorth.com/showth...on-earlier-IIA

A light is a good tool to get you in the neighborhood but going by sound/feel will truly get you to the right place with your engine. Series Rovers are like fiddles - every one is different and the owner learns how to tune and play it. The green bible does a nice job at explaining the process but the published numbers are based on old fuel mixtures (leaded gas) that don't exist any more so the published timing settings aren't really accurate today. Also, your engine may have been re-built and rebored to a higher compression ratio. Octane rating makes a difference too. Higher octane ratings generally require more advance... A lot of variables unique to your situation.