Thread: Swivel Pin Lube

Default Swivel Pin Lube

Hi I'm fairly new to the Disco's I recently got a '97 NAS Disco and had a question on what to put into the swivel pin housings? I thought it would just be regular old 90 weight like in my series but all the plugs are different all I can find is one that's way up high on the housing and seems to be a little much oil. Then I looked on disco web and someone was talking about 1 shot. Not sure what it is other then some special lube.

I'm not sure how to tell what's in there now or even if there is anything in it because of the lack of plugs that I've been able to find. Also if you top it off with 85-90 oil and there was this 1 shot stuff in there will it mess things up? Or do they mix and end up happy?

Thanks for any pointers.

It is a special thin grease, not oil.

RN has it, and it is quite cheap. It is also pre-measured so you squirt a tube in each side and forget it for a while...
    Owner: James Leach Global Expedition Services.

1995 110 Regular

Quote Originally Posted by J!m
    It is a special thin grease, not oil.

RN has it, and it is quite cheap. It is also pre-measured so you squirt a tube in each side and forget it for a while...
    Right I got that part. But what if you're not replacing anything and you just want to top it off? in my Series even with new seals and balls I still had to top it off every couple of months just for good measure. Is this no longer the case with the Disco's? Is there no such thing as regular fill ups? I mean it's still a rover right? I have no reason to drain what's currently in there so I don't think I need a premeasured amount. I just want to make sure I don't need to add anything. I'm planing about a 1300 mile drive over Thanksgiving week so I just wanted to make sure this was not something that needed to be filled.

twisties~South Lake Tahoe tarmac rallye style

FYI, here is the part. Yes, Land Rovers love grease of all kinds.