PDA

View Full Version : Engine woes

siii8873
08-20-2010, 10:11 AM
Well my rover that I have been using as a daily driver for about 6 months has developed an engine knock. I'm pretty sure it's a connecting rod bearing on the #2 cylinder. Noise is from the oil pan area and drastically reduces when I pull the #2 plug wire.
Am I correct that rod bearings can be done from the oil pan without removing the engine?
The girl has let me down :mad::mad:

I Leak Oil
08-20-2010, 10:22 AM
The girl has let me down :mad::mad:

Hey come on now, cut it some slack. Not sure how old you are but I'm sure you'll be needing some repair by the time you're as old (if not already) as your truck!

You can do the rod bearings in the truck. Make sure the crank journals are good and measure them before just slapping bearings in it though. If it's a wrist pin though, you'll have to take the head off.

siii8873
08-20-2010, 10:45 AM
Thanks,
that is what I thought. BTW I have a few years on the truck.
The PO had told me that this engine had been rebuilt. It has run great until 2 days ago when I thought I heard a slight knock when I first started it and then it was fine until the next time I started it the knock was there at idle or under load. Investigated today and found what I noted above.
Guess I'll have to share the wifes car which is definily a female. It nags you when you don't put the seat belt on, leave the lights on, have a door ajar,....,,, Wipers come on every time I signal a turn...
Thanks
Bob

jac04
08-20-2010, 11:50 AM
Wipers come on every time I signal a turn...
I'm glad I'm not the only one that does this. :o

stonefox
08-20-2010, 04:10 PM
I always got a kick out of "your door is ajar" who talks like that ?, what auto engineer came up with that anyway. Like they just couldn't say hey "your door is open jerk, you are going to fall out ,and bust open your head". You know, nothing to wordy, keeping it simple and to the point.:D

allende
08-20-2010, 05:56 PM