PDA

View Full Version : what is the real story on rover 'fixings'?

kwd509
09-02-2010, 07:07 AM
Pulled from a prior thread, the question of 'fixings' sizes and tools seems recurrent.
I'm a newbie and had mentioned that in my pending recovery (this weekend) I have the contingency of removing the driveshaft held by 4 -9/16" bolts.

I was corrected.....Quote: Originally Posted by Terrys
"They are 3/8"BSF.

.....I have yet to have a good grasp on what tools I'll need. I recently studied a rover belonging to a friend, who has used his 2a to plow a very tough driveway and for other farm chores, He has kept it going for years and when I asked him the drive shaft size bolts, he indicated he had very few specialized tools and managed fine......noting that he had used a 9/16" wrench. I climbed under the truck and confirmed it seemed to fit well (there was a little play but I might not have noticed if I hadn't been attending to that issue).

How specialized are the sizes and tools? And without them will I genuinely run into trouble with the function of the 'fixings' or is use of the original tools more a factor of owners being true to the original construction?

thanks.

SafeAirOne
09-02-2010, 08:04 AM
You'll be fine with standard (SAE) and metric tools for 99% of everything you'll come across on the Rover.

crankin
09-02-2010, 08:38 AM
You will be amazed at how much you can remove with one or two socket sizes (not saying that you can break the whole truck down with one tool...but you can get really close!).

Remember these trucks were made for farm work, expeditions, and war zones. I am confident that these trucks were made with the thought in mind that they would be in third world countries where “specialized” tools are hard to come by.