PDA

View Full Version : headliner

siii8873
09-04-2010, 07:06 PM
I need to do one of my least favorite jobs, headliner. Never did finish it on my first rover. Has anyone done anything different from the standard hoop&fabric headliner? I don't quite understand how to do them.
I'm thinking of contact cementing some ensolite type foam to the top and then covering that somehow. Don't know what I would cover it with or how. I have the top unbolted for a windscreen change so now would be the time.

John O from Jersey
09-04-2010, 08:07 PM
Mercedes Jim did a real slick job that I plan on copying - here's his link:

http://www.seriestrek.com/headliner.html

If Jim is listening, I'd love to hear what adhesive you used. (and if it held up)

John O

luckyjoe
09-05-2010, 07:16 AM
I've been putting this off for a few years, but I'm now ready to do it. It is based on Mercedes Jim's project. Here is what I'm using:

insulation = http://www.lobucrod.com/
Headliner = http://www.perfectfit.com/15593/154092/Marine-Carpet-and-Hulliner/Hulliner-and-Headliner-72.html

I have everything laid-out, I just need to finish a few mods to the roof panel. I'll check my notes as I think I picked an adhesive from McMaster-Carr...

Regards,

Tim Smith
09-05-2010, 11:12 AM
I did something similar to Jim's.
http://picasaweb.google.com/smithco1/BumbasHeadliner?authkey=Gv1sRgCJzMg46bneCP5gE&feat=directlink

I have to admit though, that after having that headliner for years, this summer it started to separate from the metal roof. I believe my choice of 1/2 inch closed cell foam may have been too heavy or maybe it didn't absorb the glue enough. Either way, combine that with the hot hot sun we had this summer and the ceiling started to fall down. :(

Be sure to choose a light insulated middle layer and you should be good to go.

adkrover
09-05-2010, 01:01 PM