PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

Billy5
09-08-2010, 04:49 PM
After being throughly disgusted with the Landcruiser Mkt, as I am more familiar with them, I have decided to seriously look at the LR. I have a friend who has had a few and swears by them. So, my question would be as a daily driver which is the way to go? I like the 110 but everyone i have seen is around 20g. But the IIA seems just right. I do paint work for a living etc..and fairly mechanical. I have a volvo v50 and it just doesnt cut it. Miss my rigs. Any help and honest advice gladly taken.

RoverForm
09-08-2010, 05:53 PM
billy,

i also drive a v50. great for the touring and loading and what-not, but the series is def where you want to be. especially if it's your first. my first was a
'79 SIII 109 wagon, that i eventually shipped off to Africa for some relief work:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/cience/sets/72157600000403815/

now i'm rolling in a '66 SIIa 88. excellent little beast. the 110 may be a risky investment as a first LR. get into a series and roll it around for a while, see how you like it, then graduate to a 110 later on if it's in the budget.

czenkov
09-08-2010, 06:29 PM
There are many similar threads here - I would run a search and see what you find if you want answers fast. I do have a few questions for you:
1) How many miles driving a day?
2) How tall are you? I have heard taller than 6' and they get real uncomfortable.
3) Do you like to be super warm in the winter? Kodiak heater.
4) Do you like to drive fast? Get a Ferrari.

I love my Series. I don't think you can go wrong as long as you do your due diligence and find one in good shape.

NickDawson
09-09-2010, 07:59 AM
Do a search for my old threads on shopping for my first rover... read the advice carefully and then do exactly the opposite of what I did :D (IE follow the advice)

Joking aside, me and my rover are in a happy place at the moment.

Some of the things I looked for: