PDA

View Full Version : No vacuum pressure at idle

stomper
09-11-2010, 09:16 AM
My rover has been running O.K, but there is a slight hesistation or skip under load. I purchased a vacuum gauge (I've never used one before) and hooked it up to the vacuum line off the webber 34in carb. I appears to sit at zero at idle. if I bump up the trottle a little, the vacuum pressure rises steady, and the guage does not flutter. I checked the intake manifold where it comes into the engine block with carb cleaner, as well as the rubber mounting block to the carb, and I can't get it to studder. I am at a loss at this point. Any ideas?

Perhaps I have an unseen crack in the intake manifold? I just want some thoughts from the forum before I start just buying and replacing parts.

mongoswede
09-11-2010, 12:07 PM
see if you have a port on the actual manifold that you can attach the gauge directly to and then double check your reading. Its possible the port you are attaching to on the carb is not directly manifold vacuum

NRutterbush
09-11-2010, 05:08 PM
I'm not familiar with your particular carb, but most carbs have multiple vacuum connection points.

Manifold vacuum (below the throttle plates) should be highest at idle, and drop as the throttle plates open.

Port vacuum (above the throttle plates) should be low or zero at idle, and rise as the throttle plates open.

When I used to do a lot of chevy truck stuff, you had to be really careful not to mix up the two when swapping carbs or distributors. Some distributors advance using a vacuum pot connected to port vacuum, others use manifold vacuum to "hold back" the advance, so that the advance happens when the plates open and the vacuum drops.

Look around on your carb, and see if there are any vacuum plugs, or threaded plugs that might be blocking another port.