PDA

View Full Version : Discovery basics

Billy5
09-17-2010, 03:15 PM
Hello, new to the forums. was thinking about a series rover, but I am going to hold off. So now im looking at discoverys as way into the rover world. What advice does anyone with one, can you give? What to stay away from..milage etc..I am not a cerified mechanic, but know my way around. I have heard all these stories about the rover engines, but I think if they are so bad why do people love them? Any help gratefully accepted.

Soakers
09-18-2010, 11:12 AM
'98 or '99 Series 1 Discoveries are commonly called the most desirable.

Travel far and wide to find one that is well kept and rust-free. There are a lot of pigs out there.

Stephen99D1
09-21-2010, 09:52 AM
If you happen to search for high-mileage engine-related threads on another board, you'll see posts from many users with well over 150k miles, some over 250k (petrol, not diesel engines!) miles without major engine repairs. That may have been mentioned somewhere on here before as well. Of course, there are stories with the opposite ending, too.

The quick version - stay on top of the maintenance. A good way to look at the situation is that you are starting a relationship, not purchasing a vehicle. (Granted, it may be a relationship with RN and other vendors... ;) )

I Leak Oil
09-21-2010, 10:52 AM
94-95 are desireable because of the 3.9 and is slightly easier to work on. 99 I suppose, because it's the last model year and in theory, the bugs worked out. I had a 96 without any issues for what it's worth.

No matter what year, get one with as little rust as possible. Check the sills, the floors, the rear wheelwells and rear floor. You need to lift the carpets to really check it out. Rust gets expensive to fix, the mechanical systems are relatively easy.

Outrovn
10-19-2010, 07:17 AM