PDA

View Full Version : Downshifting?

Burlsube
11-07-2010, 09:31 AM
I'm new to the manual shifting world and I'm trying to figure out what is best and/or most practical in regards to downshifting in my IIa.

The person who gave me my brief standard tutorial says he never down shifts and usually pops it into neutral and then back into whatever gear is necessary. Downshifting for hills seems to induce intense anxiety, so I have been sticking to flat areas. But that isnt very fun.

Any tips and tricks?

leafsprung
11-07-2010, 10:01 AM
match engine rpms. clutch, neutral, clutch-blip throttle, engage second. practice makes perfect.

Wander
11-07-2010, 04:26 PM
Rovers are so low geared this isn't something you need to do but shifting from 4th to 3rd does allow engine braking. I do not normally downshift from 3rd to 2nd.

disco2hse
11-07-2010, 08:45 PM
Double the clutch, which is how I learned to drive with crash gearbox (no synchro). Some IIa's have synchromesh.

You should double the clutch when changing gears up and down.

I will try to get this right but I do it without thinking about it. When I try to think I mess it up :D

Procedure (same for any gear and changing up or down the gears):
1. To begin you will either have your foot on the accelerator or brake pedal. Only release these when the procedure begins. It helps when you are gaining or losing momentum.
2. Vehicle is in gear, depress clutch pedal and move gear lever to neutral.
3. Release the clutch pedal and give a squirt on the accelerator.
4. Vehicle is in neutral. Press the clutch before the engine loses the revs from 2 and ease the gear lever into the next gear.
5. Release the clutch pedal and either accelerate (if changing up the gears) or brake (if changing down the gears). Releasing the pedal quickly at first until the clutch `bites,' then release slowly until fully released.