PDA

View Full Version : Series 73 Repairs + Modifications

IslandRover
12-15-2010, 12:03 AM
Hi.....I am about to take on some repairs and needed modifications to my '73 Series III (88) and was hoping for some of your advice on the following areas. I'm still new to LRs (and mechanics in general) and highly addicted as well as excited to learn during this process. I don't have bottomless pockets by any means but have saved up some money to put towards this project. Any insight from your years of experience would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much in advance!

My wife, dog, and I run our Rover on the island 2 miles max per day and use it on the beach in the summer on weekends (when we get a free one). It's basically a family, daily driver without highways that we want to be comfortable, reliable and provide years of use. We are also trying to avoid cosmetic touches that make our LR appear "modified". We're trying to update her and keep her looking as classic as possible in appearance.

Questions / Thoughts:

SUSPENSION
- Rocky Mountain Parabolics + Pro Comp 9000 Shocks VS Rovers North Parabolic + Shock Kit
- Is it worth it to buy RM's and pay the shipping of $160 they charge from Canada to the East Coast?
- How to decide if the 2 or 3 leaf rear is best?
- Are parabolics definitely a worthwhile upgrade?
- Recommended Shocks needed for daily + beach use (no off-road)?

TIRES
** I have 15 inch wheels and not sure on the size / width that will best suit us.
- Michelin LTX A/T2 worth the price?
- Or is a BF Goodrich All Terrain a good choice to save a few bucks?
- Or go for a more affordable passenger tire so its better for the beach (when we deflate).
- Tire Rack have the best prices?

BATTERY
- Thoughts on brands?
- Original style?

CARBURATOR
- Thoughts on best brands for most affordable cost?

SEATBELTS
- Is it possible to find original static 3 point or lap belts.