PDA

View Full Version : Full of Enthusiasm

JDLalama
01-06-2011, 11:27 AM
Hello,

I am new to Series ownership after 25 years of being separated from them. I was 11 years old in 1985 when my father sold his 1974 Series III 88 SW in Limestone, ever since I hoped to have one of my own. I took the picture below the day it moved on.

As you can see in the picture he also had a Series I. He also had an IIA that he used for parts. See the “grill” on his Series III ? He also took the 16” wheels from the IIA and placed them. Now, my example of a 1974 isn’t as nice, but I have hopes of it to be some day.

My goal is to make a reliable everyday driver that is pleasing to my eyes. My Series is a shade of blue (evidence it was marine blue at some point in its life) basic model that is RHD.

I would like to remove the body from the frame and really check out the foundation of this Land Rover. I know it has been repaired in all the usual places and it looks like it was done by someone who knew something about what they were doing. At that time if the frame checks out I would like to use Por 15

Check out the bulkhead for necessary repairs

Should I convert to LHD? A question I ask myself.

Overdrive or 5 speed mated to original drive train?

New brakes, lines and consider the front disc brake conversion. Right now the master cylinder is a single circuit. It has 16” wheels already, but they are not original. They are a star pattern which resembles an American Racing Wheel. I really prefer the original style, Wolf/NATO looking wheels, but to save some money painting these limestone or black will do.

Parabolic leaf springs, poly bushing and shocks

The rear axle has the boxed gusset on the longer end. Is this from an earlier model?

Once the foundation is sorted out, I would like to paint the body Limestone or sandglow.

Removing the paint from the original galvanized pieces.

It would be nice to find an IIA grill or make one.