PDA

View Full Version : Series 1 Brakes-will later Series II/IIA or III fit?

Bilbo42
01-26-2011, 04:28 PM
Hi. I am fairly new to the Series 1. I have a 1957 Series 1 with 10" brakes. My wheel cylinders, brakes shoes and pads, pull off springs and flex brakes lines are shot. By drums and the solid lines on the vehilce are OK. And at this point, my master cylinder and supply tank assembly seem in good order. I really would rather not have to pay a million in shipping if I can get something over here. My question is: Which later Series wheel cylinder like the Genuine LR or Proline (or both) that I see on the Rovers North site, will fit my Series 1 brake anchor plate assembly AND work properly or have any modifications got to be done to fit AND work correctly. If a later wheel cylinder will work, I assume the newer Series shoes, pads, springs and flex hoses will fit the newer wheel cylinders AND work together ion my brake anchor plate and nside my drums. Maybe this is a question for someone from RN but I also wanted to get anyone's feedback that may have done this to a Series1. Disclaimer: I did try to search the forum and I didn't really find enough info not to have to ask the question. I am sorry if it has been asked before and I missed it! Best regards, Bilbo

gudjeon
01-26-2011, 05:17 PM
Series 1, 88" brake parts will be the same as ser2&3 (or at least fit). The only differing part will be the master cylinder. Wheel cylinders are the same as are the flexi-hoses and brake hardware (springs, etc). All is the same at each wheel as a ser2 and 3 88" brake parts. At least that's how I built mine.