PDA

View Full Version : alternator kit installation questions (update with pics)

zebrarover
02-18-2011, 10:52 PM
I got an Alternator Bracket Kit from Robert Davis 5+ years ago that I'm finally going to install but I have a few questions before I start. Has anyone installed one of these and if so are there any tricks other than what is in his instructions?

The instructions say to remove the starter dog and the crank pulley so the bracket bolts can be removed/installed. As I've never done this before I was wondering if I need to drain the block first before I remove the pulley?

Also, I was wondering if I need to drain the coolant and remove the radiator before I start or can it be put on with the everything else in place (radiator, fan shroud, wings,...)?

Thanks for the help
Seth

TeriAnn
02-19-2011, 04:14 AM
I got an Alternator Bracket Kit from Robert Davis 5+ years ago that I'm finally going to install but I have a few questions before I start. Has anyone installed one of these and if so are there any tricks other than what is in his instructions?

The instructions say to remove the starter dog and the crank pulley so the bracket bolts can be removed/installed.

Say what?????

I've never seen Robert's alternator kit before and I have a lot of respect for his work but Removing the crank pulley is not an easy quickly job one normally does to a completely assembled truck.

On the other hand Ike's alternator brackets are quick & easy to install and everyone I know who uses them seem happy with them

http://www.pangolin4x4.com/pangolin4x4/products/alternatorbrackets/altbrktsmain.jpg

http://www.pangolin4x4.com/pangolin4x4/products/alternatorbrackets/alternatorbrackets.html

Terrys
02-19-2011, 06:01 AM
No, you don't need to drain anything to remove the crank pulley. Nor do you need to remove the wings, radiator, etc.