alternator kit installation questions (update with pics)

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • zebrarover
    Low Range
    • Oct 2006

alternator kit installation questions (update with pics)

I got an Alternator Bracket Kit from Robert Davis 5+ years ago that I'm finally going to install but I have a few questions before I start. Has anyone installed one of these and if so are there any tricks other than what is in his instructions?

The instructions say to remove the starter dog and the crank pulley so the bracket bolts can be removed/installed. As I've never done this before I was wondering if I need to drain the block first before I remove the pulley?

Also, I was wondering if I need to drain the coolant and remove the radiator before I start or can it be put on with the everything else in place (radiator, fan shroud, wings,...)?

Thanks for the help
    Seth
    Last edited by zebrarover; 02-19-2011, 07:30 PM. Reason: update with pics at bottom of post
    1966 Series IIA 88 "zebra"
    1967 Series IIA 109
  • TeriAnn
    Overdrive
    • Nov 2006

Originally posted by zebrarover
    I got an Alternator Bracket Kit from Robert Davis 5+ years ago that I'm finally going to install but I have a few questions before I start. Has anyone installed one of these and if so are there any tricks other than what is in his instructions?

The instructions say to remove the starter dog and the crank pulley so the bracket bolts can be removed/installed.
    Say what?????

I've never seen Robert's alternator kit before and I have a lot of respect for his work but Removing the crank pulley is not an easy quickly job one normally does to a completely assembled truck.

On the other hand Ike's alternator brackets are quick & easy to install and everyone I know who uses them seem happy with them

-

Teriann Wakeman_________
    Flagstaff, AZ.

1960 Land Rover Dormobile, owned since 1978

My Land Rover web site

Comment

• Terrys
      Overdrive
      • May 2007