PDA

View Full Version : New Owner Here - Pics!

donnykaz
04-05-2007, 05:49 PM
Hey guys, just picked up an ex-military spec 24v series III. Just had the alternator rebuilt because it was toast. I have a few questions that maybe you can help with as I'm a bit new to these trucks.

First off the clutch is dead to the floor....should i go ahead and look to rebuild the whole system? Any write ups on the web?

The tires while not original are quite old. I doubt they would pass inspection. What are the options for tire/wheel combos that are a more common ( and cheaper) match? As you can see in the pics, the truck has the old school cookie cutter tires.

Is there a perticularly good vendor that deals with 24v series in the US. RN doesn't seem the stock much.

And the last question...what ballpark do you think the truck is worth?

Thanks so much!http://www.geocities.com/dkazmark/landie/00ce_3.JPGhttp://www.geocities.com/dkazmark/landie/02e4_3.JPGhttp://www.geocities.com/dkazmark/landie/fc11_3.JPG

LaneRover
04-05-2007, 05:55 PM
Before you re-build the whole system, put in hydraulic fluid and see if you can find where it is leaking first. If that fails then you can look into re-building the whole thing.

Not sure about tire/wheel combos - my brother has some old 'Hercules' tires on his.

As for what it is worth - no clue. How is the frame? How is the engine? All sorts of stuff come in to play.

They are great little trucks and are a lot of fun but also can be quite frustrating at times!

LaneRover

Willard
04-06-2007, 07:46 AM
As for 24V parts, not to many people deal with the parts. for small things yuo can get these from any NAPA or big rig store. Thats where i use to get parts for my Cruiser. For other parts. most i have found (i have a 109 FFR) you will need to bring over from the UK for the larger parts.
Things like Starters, alternators cost is high for these parts and a rebuild (as you did) is a better option.