PDA

View Full Version : Rover Remorse

bullstanky
07-19-2011, 02:07 PM
Do you guys ever suffer from rover remorse like I do? I mean, do you ever find yourself pining for a rover in really nice shape that just happens to cost about half as much as you currently have invested in your 75% complete rover project?

This sexy ex-mod SIII 109 on ebay looks to be more complete and in better shape than my SIII 109 that I've been working on for 4+ years now....and that still needs several G's worth of work done to it.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Land-Rover-Series-3-_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trkparmsZalgoQ3dLVIQ26ituQ3dUC IQ26otnQ3d2Q26poQ3dLVIQ26psQ3d63Q26clkidQ3d1458146 494992530000QQ_trksidZp5197Q2em7QQitemZ28070857436 2

I can only hope that it comes with the leaky seals, droopy springs, and rusted frame most ebay rovers come with--otherwise I'll just sit here kicking myself :eek:

rickv100
07-19-2011, 03:01 PM
Unless you can have it inspected I would stick with what you have. You are already aware of the faults versus starting all over again from zero.

Rick

jac04
07-19-2011, 03:11 PM
Remorse? Perhaps a little hindsight as well? It comes with almost every project. You just need to fight through that feeling & stay on track with your project, knowing it will turn out exactly the way you want it to. :thumb-up:

mongoswede
07-19-2011, 03:15 PM
a friend of mine told me yesterday: " it took us about 2 years to do 90% of the work and another 2 years to do the last 10%" ....this was in restoring a mustang fastback. We both agreed it was less fun to do all the annoying stuff at the end of a project. My rover remorse is that I didnt just buy the galvy frame to begin with...I saved a lot of pocket money buy lost a lot of free time :sly:

Cutter
07-19-2011, 03:34 PM
eh its 24v and RHD, I personally would look at a rover if had one of those, but not both, MHO. Think of the fun you are having on yours....

JimCT
07-19-2011, 03:57 PM