PDA

View Full Version : Fried Points/Capacitor

LH Drive
04-16-2007, 10:53 PM
Has anyone fried the distributor points? I'm new to the points/capacitor condensor system and did'nt adjust it when I timed the engine to set the idle on the new carb. Was used to the electronic advanced system that you don't mess with. Anyway, she ran fine for a couple of days then she died and would not start. Smoke and a bad smell came from the engine bay. I quickly disconnected the battery incase I had a short somewhere. I traced the smoke to the distributer cap. The back of my hand also noticed that the coil was hot as pain rushed to my brain to remove it. The wire that connects the coil to points also did'nt survive.
Will I need a new coil to go with the new points?

J!m
04-17-2007, 06:43 AM
If that happened to me, I'd replace everything.

Also check the wires that supply power to the coil, and the ignition switch. If a lot of current or spark voltage went the wrong way, you may have done additional damage not immediately seen....

singingcamel
04-18-2007, 04:44 PM
did you leave the ignition on..:nono:

LH Drive
04-18-2007, 06:13 PM
did you leave the ignition on..:nono:
Yes I did,,without the engine running. I was fixing the turn signal wiring problem I had and needed to find the short. I Did'nt know you could not leave the ignition on but it makes sence now. That would send constant power to the coil,coil wire to the points/condenser causing and overload after 5 min or so. I walked away from it after I sorted the turn signal problem and cut the ignition off. About an hour later I returned to turn the rover on and it started but stalled soon after followed by smoke out of the distributor cap. I wonder if the alternator got some of this too.
Ahhh, Life with a Series. I'll be ordering new coil,points,codenser,distributor cap,rotor,plug wires, spark plugs and see if she'll forgive me.

KevinNY
04-18-2007, 08:01 PM
I thought that was not an issue with series III's?

Jeff Aronson