PDA

View Full Version : Weird no start/no power.

Billy5
07-27-2011, 03:48 PM
Ok, first off I am new to rovers. Second I have the green bible. So heres my problem. My right tail light would light up when the key is on, but the light switch is off. I looked at the grounds on the top of the tub, looked ok. Dusty but ok. So I thought perhaps the switch itself maybe be bad, allowing power to pass through to that side. I took the dash plate with the switches off to look around ( lots of wires back there) didn't see anything to out of line, except that they are old. So I decided to leave things alone for the time, and went to start it. I got nada. The headlights dont come on, no power at all. I checked the battery and I have 12.15 volts. Mind you I had zero issues up until I looked into the rear light. Always started with no problem. Now, could I have jarred a wire loose when I put the dash back in? Or are there fuses elsewhere that I am missing. I have two on the firewall that appear to be good. Thank you for any direction you may have.:confused:

I Leak Oil
07-27-2011, 04:20 PM
What happens when you put a set of jumper cables on it?

Billy5
07-27-2011, 04:56 PM
I didnt try cables. I have 12 volts, I dont even have a click click. Its as if the truck is getting no power now. Headlights dont come on, nothing. I just cant think of what I could of done to cause it. Did I jar a wire loose? Its just bizarre. all from a tail light that comes on with the ignition switch, rather than the light switch. But I guess I will try a jump pack. Cant hurt.

Apis Mellifera
07-27-2011, 05:19 PM
It sounds like perhaps the ignition circuit and brake light circuit have been switched. As a laugh, you could try pressing the brake and then try starting it.

I'd suggest tracing the various circuits to find where the power is. Brown wires are constant 12V, white is switched, and, as I recall, green with purple is the brake circuit.