PDA

View Full Version : Head gasket - first big project

2manykids4a7
09-25-2011, 10:51 AM
Good morning everyone.

I have been on the board a while and appreciated the input from everybody on some smaller projects, and I now find myself getting ready to tackle something larger. Up until now I have had a local mechanic/friend do most of the work on my 1975 Series III, and he was getting ready to do some more when he got called out of town for 4-6 weeks (family stuff). My schedule is usually pretty busy but I should have some free time over the next few weeks so I thought it was a good time for me to step up and see what I can do, rather than just let the rover sit. Before he left he had done a compression test and was getting no pressure in 2 cylinders so was getting ready to pull the head, hoping the problem was just the gasket and nothing more. So now I am going to try it.

I have never done anything as involved as this before. I don't know what I am doing but I feel that I follow instructions well and from what I have been told this is not a hard job (although everyone who has said that is someone I would consider more mechanically minded than me!). So I am excited to give it a go. I have a green bible and a Haynes restoration manual to guide me. I searched the forum and found little bits here and there but didn't find a write up by a newbie starting from scratch, so I thought I would document my experience here and take whatever advice people have to offer.

I had the rover bought back to my garage this morning and had just taken the bonnet off (step 1 from the green bible) when I got called in to help with homework etc. Don't know if I will get back out today.

Although I haven't done anything yet, I would be glad to hear from anyone if there are things I should be thinking of right now.

Thanks, Steve..

SafeAirOne
09-25-2011, 12:09 PM