PDA

View Full Version : New Distributor Options

sven
04-24-2007, 08:55 PM
It looks like my old dome style distributor has bitten the dust. So my options are either the 45D or the Ducellier. Is one better than the other?

Chris McKnight
04-24-2007, 11:14 PM
There's also the electronic distributor from Disco Tech (http://www.disco-tech.ca/distributors/). I've never known anyone that has one, but perhaps someone else could chime in?

Otherwise, I'd go with the 45D, simply because they're pretty common as these things go, and they seem to tick away just fine. Might even add a Pertronix electronic kit to it, the consensus seems to be that the Pertronix works well and requires little maintenance. I've had no experience with the Ducellier personally.

Chris

BackInA88
04-25-2007, 04:58 AM
I have one from Disco Tech and it is nice. :D
Got it off E-bay from them for about $90, they are doing mostly "buy it now" last time I looked at around a $140 I believe.
Just dropped it in. plugged it up and set timing.
I have been running it about 6 months.

jp-
04-25-2007, 02:20 PM
I have a Disco-Tech distributor also and it works well. This topic has come up before. Look back through the old threads.

sven
04-26-2007, 08:34 AM
The Discotech one is now 150 plus shipping. And what happens if the module dies....can you screw in a set of points? Where do you get a replacement module?

singingcamel
04-26-2007, 08:58 AM
sven,
would go with the 45d for the reason you just mentioned..
www.singingcamel.com (http://www.singingcamel.com)
how do you like your series by now?

Jim-ME
04-26-2007, 12:26 PM
I also have a Discotech distributor and am very happy with it but I didn't part with my old distributor so that I have a replacement if necessary. I am not one bit concerned about it dying. Why do some people worry about such things if they don't own one. Do they have a bad history?

sven
04-26-2007, 01:52 PM