PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible?

garycox
12-17-2011, 09:20 PM
I am new to Land Rovers and have already learned a lot just lurking here. Thanks.

I am thinking I would like to get into a series I or II. One of my concerns is what I read here re top speeds. I would like to be able to safely travel on major highways on occasion.

Is it possible to make a early land rover cruise safely at 70mph? Would just a OD unit get the job done or would more be required? I am not interested in non rover engine swaps, I want something that mostly looks somewhat original.

Thanks for your insights.

Gary

Rat Patrol
12-17-2011, 09:27 PM
i wouldn't advise running it that hard for long periods. 65 is as hard as i've pushed mine and that is a bit nerve racking.

canyonero
12-17-2011, 10:02 PM
I had a '99 Disco II that I didn't really enjoy on the highways above 50 mph, so my current Series III is even less comfortable at cruising speeds. I guess I just got got used to my wife's Subaru for fifth gear travel...I've always felt that Land Rovers seem to feel instantly better once they turn off pavement and hit dirt, so I'm not sure there's any way to make a Series feel "comfortable" on pavement. I love mine, but don't have to take it on the Interstate..

leafsprung
12-17-2011, 11:28 PM
Ive driven everywhere in the US in a series land rover from east coast to west coast NY to LA, dixie to the PNW and never found that I HAD to go 70mph. I regularly take trips in stock 2.0L series ones with 50-55 mph cruise without issue. While a series rover in good shape can pull 70, its not really necessary unless your in a hurry and a land rover really isnt the best car if you are in a hurry.

SafeAirOne
12-18-2011, 05:18 AM
I drive my underpowered 109 30 highway miles to and from work 5 days a week at 55mph. Been doing it for years. It's plenty safe and I've never had any complaints from anyone behind me.