PDA

View Full Version : An observation from a new Rover enthusiast

keithg
01-03-2012, 12:50 PM
I've owned my S3 for about 6 weeks now and I've ordered parts from a few different places and also posted on this site. I've been restoring cars as a hobby for about 20 years and I have to say that the Rover folks have to be the most helpful and friendly group I've had the privilege of interacting with. Every part house has been great and each person that I've spoken to from this forum has been wonderful. Thank you! I appreciate it and I'm happy to be a part of it!

jac04
01-03-2012, 01:25 PM
I agree with you Keith. Land Rover people are very helpful and eager to help out. I'm restoring a 68 Camaro. When I'm on the old Camaro forums it seems that a lot of people are just there to tell you that your carburetor return spring is the wrong color or your tire valve cover caps don't have the proper wording. In the end, you get caught up in details that don't even matter and the project looses its fun factor.

Land Rovers are fun no matter what.

keithg
01-03-2012, 02:47 PM
I know what you mean. I have old Fords, two 70's 4x4 trucks, a '70 Mercury Marquis Convertible, and a 2000 Mustang GT Convertible Spring Feature Edition. Most of the other forums are full of people telling you how you should do it their way and your way must be wrong or they would have thought of it.

I've had a lot of fun so far just sorting out the Rover, getting it running, and poking fun at the fact that it sounds like a tractor and has less than 100hp. I had no experience with Rovers prior to buying one but I wanted another 4x4 that was small but not a Jeep. I also looked at a few 60's Scouts but picked the Rover based on parts availability. I'm glad I did.

SalemRover
01-03-2012, 04:43 PM