PDA

View Full Version : 90wt gear oil

Ncrover725
01-28-2012, 08:16 AM
Since day one I have used Lucas 90wt for all my requirements. The Lucas cost about twice the average generic brand ( napa, advanced auto, ect..) oil. Is there a difference in these oils or am I just wasting a bit of money? I'm looking to drain and fill everything this payday and spending half as much could be a good thing.

TeriAnn
01-28-2012, 10:33 AM
I have no idea why anyone would use Lucas oils. I have no idea if it attacks bronze or not, so can not comment on your current choice of oil.

I have been using Sta Lube GL-4 Hypoid Gear Oil for over 30 years with no issues. GL-4 is an old standard but it is a bronze friendly standard.

Meanwhile, I have moved to a climate where it actually gets cold in the winter and have been thinking of going to RedLine synthetic gear oils for reservoirs that do not leak because they work better on cold winter mornings.

I'm thinking of switching to Redline 75W90 GL-4 gear oil for the gearbox, staying with the less expensive Sta Lube GL-4 for the leaky transfercase and going to RedLine 75W140 GL-5 Gear Oil for the diffs which don't leak.

jonnyc
01-28-2012, 12:05 PM
Anything that leaks gets the cheap stuff. Come to think of it, I pretty much only use the cheap stuff.

Rat Patrol
01-28-2012, 02:27 PM
I'd say Teri Ann has the right idea, especially in colder climates. I still run the standard stuff here in WY but seriously considering synthetic as its not much above +30 & more like the teens with wind-chill....takes a few miles to warm up the gears.

scatterling
01-28-2012, 04:39 PM
Napa sells Pennzoil Gearplus 80W90 GL4
- Stock No. 4804.
It's what I use.

jac04
01-28-2012, 06:10 PM
I also use the CRC Sta-Lube 85W90 GL-4 gear oil. I buy it at NAPA.

antichrist
01-28-2012, 08:08 PM
Rumor has it that the newer additives used in the GL5's don't attack yellow metal the way the older ones did. I've no idea how true that is.