PDA

View Full Version : Tappet clearance question

Alk-3
03-18-2012, 09:05 AM
Hey everyone. I have a quick question. I have a noisy tappet that I've been chasing in and off for a few months now. It's a brand new turner head, and the truck runs really nice. Always starts on the first try, has good power, doesn't backfire, and in general is just a great running engine. I've adjusted the tappets as per the green bible, but number four is still noisy. When I was last adjusting it, I noticed if I keep turning the engine over (with the hand crank) I could get a much larger feeler gauge under it when it was not set for number 5 fully open. So my question is this.. Should the Tappet be adjusted for .011" while fully closed, or should it be adjusted so that .011 is its widest possible clearance at any stage of the valve train.
I hope that makes sense.
Also, I should mention, if I stick a .003 or so feeler under it while the engine is running, it's quiets down completely.
I don't mind living with the noise of it, but at the same time, I don't want to burn a valve, and don't want to have it adjusted too wide for no gain..
Hope all this makes sense.

SafeAirOne
03-18-2012, 09:37 AM
Hmm.

Speaking from 2.5D experience only, I believe that the valve being adjusted shlould be fully closed when the reference valve is fully open. It sounds like your adjusting valve is still in motion when the reference valve is fully open for whatever reason.

Alk-3
03-18-2012, 10:05 AM