PDA

View Full Version : Help! Clutch won't disengage

pyounts
05-20-2012, 10:12 PM
1973 Series III - I'm not a mechanic and am not sure what to do. The clutch is stuck and I can't put it in gear when the engine is running. If I put it in gear, push in the clutch and try to start it - it moves with the starter. The clutch just ain't working. I tried rocking it while in gear but had no luck. I'm not sure if I should try getting more aggressive with the rocking or what? Any suggestions?

SafeAirOne
05-20-2012, 10:24 PM
Read:

http://siteground237.com/~gunsandr/showthread.php?598-Stuck-Clutch

and

http://forums.roversnorth.com/showthread.php?9902-Clutch-plate-stuck

Boston
05-21-2012, 04:47 AM
Been stored for a long time?

pyounts
05-21-2012, 08:15 AM
Yeah, maybe a year since I drove it.

pyounts
05-21-2012, 07:15 PM
Well, I guess the best advice is to put it in 4th gear, start her up and drive around with the clutch held down. Hopefully the clutch plate will break free at some point. It's worth a try!

SafeAirOne
05-21-2012, 08:18 PM
Well, I guess the best advice is to put it in 4th gear, start her up and drive around...

Be careful of the "jack it up, get the wheels spinning and jam on the brakes" method--It mght work, but I can attest from personal experience that doing something like this could possibly break teeth off the ring gear in the diff (though I did it unintentionally with a wheel lifted while off-road driving).

akrvr
06-02-2012, 05:15 PM