PDA

View Full Version : 1961 109 Dormobile

parrie
06-26-2012, 11:26 AM
Hello All,

I am fairly new to the LR world (purchased a 99 Dico II couple of years ago)...my wife would like to know if I have lost my mind for my latest purchase. I have just rescued a 1961 109 Dormobile station wagon for $4,000. I've done a fair amount of research and believe this to be a fair price but figured someone could convince my wife that I am infact stable. The ole girl runs fine and all the major items (frame, bulkhead, rear cross-member, out-riggers, spring mounts, running gear, top, headliner, glass) are in fairly good condition. Door tops and bottoms are OK as are the body panels. Here's the not so good...the canvas for the top has a tear, door seals are toast, windshield vent seals are toast, two door pillars are close to toast, stove/refridge/cabinets/accessories are missing, rear seats/beds are missing, leaking brake fluid. Plan to restore to a daily driver and intend to use it for what it was built for...it seems a shame to let it just sit there looking pretty. Sooo, any thoughts? Is $4,000 a good deal or must I admit to my wife that I have flipped a lid?

SafeAirOne
06-26-2012, 12:04 PM
Based on your description, I think you made out rather well.

o2batsea
06-26-2012, 05:17 PM
By door pillars you mean the ones on the sides of the bulkhead that the front doors mount to? If they are rusted out, you have zero sources for replacement metal other than Pegasus Parts (http://www.pegasusparts.co.uk/) in the UK. I have tried all the (garbage) from every other vendor and you will not be disappointed with theirs.

parrie
06-26-2012, 06:33 PM
She does need some work but all in all I think I made a pretyy good deal. Taking delivery on Thursday, can't wait! As I mentioned I'm new to the Rover world so I expect this forum will be utilized often. Thanks for reading

parrie
06-26-2012, 06:38 PM