PDA

View Full Version : Series IIA Rebuild

cmcgahagin
07-05-2012, 01:45 PM
I'm getting ready to finally start my IIA rebuild project from the ground up. I plan on taking plenty of pictures to document how things were connected "before" and bagging/labeling pieces so that I'll have a clue where they might belong during the rebuild. I'm not a serious mechanic but I'm not afraid to tear things apart either. Since it's a project I'm looking at a 2-3 year time frame, my wife says 4.
The reason for starting this thread. If you had two recommendations to give me, what would they be? Don't worry about hurting my feelings!

Mercedesrover
07-05-2012, 01:49 PM
If you had two recommendations to give me, what would they be? Don't worry about hurting my feelings!

1) Sell your Land Rover
2) Buy a Toyota

You asked.

cmcgahagin
07-05-2012, 02:04 PM
Sorry, I already have an '10 FJ. The rebuild is still a go.
:-)

Mercedesrover
07-05-2012, 02:22 PM
You'll have fun.

Seriously though:

If this is your first Rover, label and catalog everything you take off and don't forget where you put it all.
You're better of fixing/rebuilding existing parts than buy new. Many new parts are of poor quality.
Remember it's an old Rover. Don't try to make a Rolls Royce out of it and you won't be disappointed.

SafeAirOne
07-05-2012, 02:50 PM
And listen to your wife. She sounds pretty rebuild-timeline savvy, though I usually double the amount of time I initially figure a task should take, just to be safe.

albersj51
07-05-2012, 03:18 PM
I'm 19 months into mine and nearing the end (I hope). My advice:

1. As stated, bag and tag everything and put them some place you'll remember.
2. Take a TON a pictures from several different angles so that you can reference them later to ensure everything is back together correctly.