PDA

View Full Version : Tools to carry

nate6472
07-23-2012, 12:46 PM
Does anyone have a list of the tools and sizes to carry onboard? I would rather only carry the sizes that fit than a complete socket and open end set for example, when only 3 of those fit a rover. Thanks

4flattires
07-23-2012, 03:06 PM
A lengthy thread covered this some time ago. A search should bring it up. Lots of pics/advice/humor.

SafeAirOne
07-23-2012, 04:16 PM
Yep. There have been a few threads about that on this board...

As a bit of a side point, if I am carrying tools (I usually don't), then I carry them to fix both my stuff AND somebody in need's stuff as a good Samaritan. Plus, after several years as an aircraft mechanic, I really need to know that all my tools are there after a job is finished. That's hard to do with a few of these and a couple of those...

jonnyc
07-23-2012, 04:28 PM
When you drive an old Rover, people expect that you have lots of tools and know-how. The more tools I carry.....the less I need to know. If they need something fixed and I have the right tool, they believe I am much more capable than I actually am. It's a win-win situation. I carry my basic tool box in a battered old 1950s(?) Craftsman tool box. It adds to the whole manly persona.

sunnyeveryday
07-25-2012, 08:43 AM
http://www.expeditionlandrover.info/LRSpares.htm

TerriAnne has a wealth of information on her web site. Its a goldmine. I have read every item and printed many out and put them into sheet protectors in a binder. Its part of my, rapidly building, kit.

smukai
07-25-2012, 10:46 AM
I carry whatever fits. And the further I travel from home, the more that fits in the back of my truck.

Unfortunately, this only reminds me of "Long Way Round". When one of the bikes breaks down, they have a plethora of SnapOn tools and no idea how to fix it. Yup, that's me.

SafeAirOne
07-25-2012, 10:52 AM