PDA

View Full Version : Disk Brake Conversion

gentilepiano
08-27-2012, 04:48 PM
Hello All...Has anyone installed the series disk brake conversion setup now offered by our host?
How difficult ?
pleased with the results ?
Any comments would be greatly appreciated

o2batsea
08-27-2012, 06:20 PM
If you have ever rebuilt your swivels, then that's about as difficult as this will get. There are a few considerations over and above the discs themselves. The master cylinder remains unboosted, so the foot action is about the same. You could upgrade to boosted master cylinder, which will require some body mods on the Series wings. Also, you will be better served with 16 inch wheels. This will fit in a 15 inch but there's just a scosh more room with 16s.

TeriAnn
08-28-2012, 12:32 AM
The kit is the same as Rovers North offered a few years back. It uses a swivel housing and hub designed by Timm Cooper and manufactured by ROAM OFFROAD. It is a very high quality kit. I have no hands on experience with this kit but it appears to be the same difficulty as replacing the Railco bushings. You disassemble everything down to that point then reassemble with new parts. If your bushings are old it would be a good time to replace them. Sorry I do not have a how-to web page for this conversion since I have not done one.

And yes you will want to convert to power brakes if you do not have them. I have a web page that provides an overview of common power brake conversions (http://www.expeditionlandrover.info/dual_brake_conv.htm). For an easy conversion I recommend a late IIA/III brake pedestal and Santana servo unit that is basically a Defender type 50 servo with Series rod. It is better than the 2:1 boost you get from a Series servo. A late IIA/III inner wing panel saves cutting up the wing for fit.

gentilepiano
08-28-2012, 05:48 AM
Thanks for the info
My rig is a series 3 with a dual system and a vacuum booster