PDA

View Full Version : Painting the beast

ocsddep
09-03-2012, 08:14 PM
My truck has a horrible paint job and most of it is peeling. Previous owner says this is original paint, but I highly doubt it. Today, I had to remove the front vent to install new seals, and decided to paint one of them. See the pics. I followed someone's advice here and used Krylon Almond 7770. I sanded first with 220, then I put 3 coats of primer, sanded with a 400 and painted 2 coats of Almond. For some reason, I am not sure the paint is sticking really well. Is there another step that I am missing? Should I be using a special etcher first? I am not an expert by any means, but I figured if I can make it look 50% better, at least my wife may let me keep it :)
My hope is that I tackle this one panel at a time and by spring, I will have it all done. Has anyone tried this? Any advice is appreciated.69966997

Partsman
09-03-2012, 08:38 PM
I'm painting mine too, but I'm using Rustoleum. I etch primed mine before hitting it with the paint. Krylon and Rustoleum, or even regular auto paints wont stick to the birmabright. So it may be worth the extra effort for you to invest in a bit of etch primer.

ocsddep
09-03-2012, 08:42 PM
Is there a process to etch prime? My can of primer says on it that it is an etcher/primer. The first primer I used, came right off.

Skeeball
09-03-2012, 08:58 PM
Ray:
I am painting my IIa but, since I have all the body panels off I am spraying it using an HVLP Turbine set up.
FIRST and do NOT skip this step you need to clean the surface with a commercial auto body wax remover/cleaner/degreaser. AND DO NOT use mineral spirits or the like to cleajn it!!! you will be sorry later trust me.. wipe it on and with a clean rag rub it off, otherwise all you are doing is moving the dirst/wax etc around