PDA

View Full Version : 1973 Series III SWB Footwell and Rollcage question

ianhunt
09-07-2012, 10:12 AM
Couple of questions from a beginner here:

I know there is no insulation between engine and footwell, but the footwell gets incredibly hot, like the metal is too hot to touch. Does everyone experience this and is there a decent solution?

Also...

Has anyone had a internal roll bar made for a Series III that actually mounts to the frame? Something that will fit underneath the roof. Any details are much appreciated.

Thanks,

Ian

mjones1700
09-07-2012, 10:46 AM

I know there is no insulation between engine and footwell, but the footwell gets incredibly hot, like the metal is too hot to touch. Does everyone experience this and is there a decent solution?

Also...

Has anyone had a internal roll bar made for a Series III that actually mounts to the frame? Something that will fit underneath the roof. Any details are much appreciated.

Thanks,

Ian

I have a 73 III 109, so the situation my be different, but I've never had a hot footwell. I did recently replace the footwells due to rust and did add insulation on the outside for noise but not heat.

o2batsea
09-07-2012, 12:20 PM

Assuming 2.25L gas. There's supposed to be a heat shield (http://www.roversnorth.com/p-2122-heat-sheild-4-cyl-petrol-series-iia-iii.aspx), so if that's missing it would explain the hotfoot. Parts are here (http://www.roversnorth.com/c-38-manifolds.aspx).

Also...

Thanks,

Ian

Safety Devices makes one but you'll have to fab the tie ins to the chassis.

1961 109 WAGON
09-07-2012, 04:43 PM
Both of my gas series trucks floors get so hot after a half hours drive. No insulation just Exmore flooor mats. Even my shoes get hot.

ArlowCT
09-07-2012, 04:57 PM