PDA

View Full Version : Bent Push Rods

parrie
09-25-2012, 07:03 AM
Woe is me...Finally got Daisey's fuel system cleaned out and added new fuel. After a bit of priming she fired-up and idled great, first time she's ran since at the previous POs residence. All sounded good until I revved the engine and heard the tell tale tapping of a bad rocker/lifter. Removed the valve cover to find 2 extremly bent push rods:(. Apparently something happened from the time I first listened to it run until until I took delivery several weeks later. Both bent rods are intake valves on cylinders 3 & 4.

This is my first time inside one of these engines. Replacement of the push rods looks pretty straight forward...any other words of wisdom for replacing the rods? Would it be a good idea to replace all the rods?

SafeAirOne
09-25-2012, 07:45 AM
What is the cause of the bent push rods? If it was something fairly simple, like the engine being run with the rockers WAY loose, allowing the rods to jump from their sockets and get bent, you're all set with a change of the bent rods and their associated tappets, however, if it was due to piston contact with open valves, you might be in for a bit more work...

jac04
09-25-2012, 08:14 AM
The pushrods can be replaced without removing the rocker shaft assembly. Just slacken the adjuster all the way, then use a home-made tool to rotate the rocker arm to open the valve. With the rocker rotated, the pushrod will come right out.

SafeAirOne
09-25-2012, 10:09 AM