PDA

View Full Version : In need of advice buying a 1969 IIA 88

meboosta
08-06-2013, 07:17 AM
Hey everyone, I was hoping to get some advice from you guys on here before I close the deal on a IIA that has been sitting for 4 years..

I'm not completely new to projects as I restored my old Honda bike and went through a frame swap on my Jeep YJ, but I am new to LR in general. The Series IIA seems to have nothing in common with my old wrangler, one of the most noticeable in my eyes is the a availability of parts...

I read the handy articles that some of you posted on here with tips for buying a series rover. But I was hoping you guys could chime in my case..

Here are a few pics..

As you could see it does need frame work but the rig does run and drive despite sitting for 4 years.. Im not too sure if I want to get into another frame swap, I had to replace a lot of parts on my YJ as I swapped the frame, I am little afraid that It will be impossible to find such parts for this rig..

It has 79k miles showing on the odometer, I can take it home for $1000. What do you guys think, it is worth it? My main concern is finding parts..

Any advice will be highly appreciated, thanks in advance!

Contractor
08-06-2013, 07:39 AM
Finding original parts might be tough, finding aftermarket parts is a little easier.

Anyway, that truck looks rough.......really rough. The Frame looks like toast, or at least those cross members and outriggers look shot. Can you tell what the bulkhead looks like?

If $1000 is all you have (initial money) and you are dying to get into a Series maybe, but you are going to have one hell of a project.

meboosta
08-06-2013, 07:54 AM
Finding original parts might be tough, finding aftermarket parts is a little easier.

Anyway, that truck looks rough.......really rough. The Frame looks like toast, or at least those cross members and outriggers look shot. Can you tell what the bulkhead looks like?