PDA

View Full Version : Motor Swap 90 Classic

Bustedknuckles
10-25-2013, 11:54 AM
Im new to the Rover world, but couldn't help but go all in my first go and buy 2 of them. So, I have one with good drivetrain and rusted out body, and another with a good body and bad motor. So hopefully I can make one awesome rover out of the lot. Ill be putting the good motor in within the next few weeks. What type of maintenance items should I consider while the motor is out? It has new belts, new hoses, and ignition wires and I picked up a waterpump for it. The motor runs well, but was thinking about doing a compression test, is this easier while motor is still in the vehicle? Are there other things that are cheap and much easier to do with the motor out? What types of quirky Rover things should I inspect? Im just planning on getting it reliable and roadworthy for now, so Im not too worried about expensive upgrades. Ive been looking around the forum for hints, but figured I would ask before ordering parts.

mearstrae
10-27-2013, 01:04 PM
Easier while still in the vehicle. Give the engine a compression check, mostly to be sure a head gasket isn't blown. If you can, also give the cooling system a pressure test, also to be sure that a head gasket isn't blown. As you may have guessed, this is a common problem with Rover V-8's. Other than that give the engine a good clean, so you can see any visual problems, and not get all mucky while swapping the engine. And... get a good repair manual, like the RAVE CD manual (also, available on-line for free) or a printed shop manual. These will save you a lot of time and trouble when trying to sort out a problem. These engines are like American V-8's (well they are derived from the early 60's Buick Skylark 215's), but the electrical systems are a bit strange. So, I think (after working on a few of these and some Discoverys) the cooling system and electrical systems are the source of more than 80% of the Rover V-8 troubles.

'95 R.R.C. Lwb