PDA

View Full Version : 1962 Series IIA 109 Station Wagon Titled as a 1964

lighiche
03-05-2014, 05:15 AM
The VIN of my two-owner (including me) LHD Montana barn-find IIA 109 - 26401087A - places its build somewhere in the October, 1961 - March, 1963 timeframe. Yet it's titled as a 1964. Any thoughts as to how or why?

Thanks.

darbsclt
03-05-2014, 06:56 AM
I'm no expert on Montana titling, but fear you might need a "way-back machine" to figure that one out.

Was it always a US vehicle?
Perhaps it was exported to Canada, originally & brought over the border into the US (and first titled) in '64.

Was there ever a lapse in title?
Once re-titled, perhaps it was just a simple mistake.

Providing you have a matching chassis number and registration plate, you might be able to get this corrected (depending, of course, on the flexibility of the Montana DMV).

jopa
03-05-2014, 07:50 AM
Series trucks were not hot sellers in those days. There was often some time between when they were built and when they were sold. When sold they would get registered as the year they were sold...not the year they were built. Not uncommon to find a truck built toward the middle to end of one year registered/ titled the next year. Yours also could have been a dealer demo. Kept for a year or so before being sold to its first registered owner.

parrie
03-05-2014, 08:53 AM
I think Jopa is correct about some vehicles being titled in the year that they sold. I'm actually surprised you have a title! Does Montana require a titile for a vehicle this age?

FYI...I couldn't find your exact serial number but based on the info I found at www.lffaq.com your truck was a LHD for export and built some time in early 1962.

lighiche
03-05-2014, 05:34 PM
I think Jopa is correct about some vehicles being titled in the year that they sold. I'm actually surprised you have a title! Does Montana require a titile for a vehicle this age?