PDA

View Full Version : Motor stalls on first crank, then runs beautifully

jbaxleyiii
05-26-2014, 07:10 PM
Hey guys!

I've got a '72 series III 109 that I've had since october of last year. Its been running fantastically up until about two months ago. Ever since then, when I go to crank the truck, it fires right up then immediately shuts off. Then when I go to crank it again, it turns and turns and turns then (typically with the help of a pressing of the gas pedal) it fires back up again. After that I have no issues until the next time I go to crank it which does the same thing. Anyone have any thoughts?

I'm relatively new to the mechanic world, having only ever worked on farm tractors.

parrie
05-27-2014, 03:24 PM
Sounds like a fuel issue...most likely fires-up w/ fuel that's left in the carb bowl then runs-out of fuel before the pump can get fuel flowing back to the carb. I'm fairly new to the series Rovers as well and don't claim to be a mechanic but my first order of business would be to inspect the fuel system for leaks. I'm assuming that you have the mechanical fuel pump w/ the glass bowl??? Any crap built up in there? Stay tuned...I'm sure someone w/ more knowledge than I will chime in.

bugeye88
05-28-2014, 10:10 AM
How long it sits between use may be the issue as the fuel in the bowel evaporates or the line from the fuel filter drains leaving air in line. If you check for any line leaks and check the fuel pump itself (it may have a diaphragm leak in the pump) then I would add a low pressure electric pump after the mechanical pump to fill the float bowel of the carb and it should fire right up, no matter how long it sits. Saves wear and tear on the starter and Battery. I put a on/off switch in the cab for the pump so I can turn it off after starting. This set up also helps starts when hot that are due to vapor lock. This subject has been discussed here before and should have threads that may help.

Cheers,
Rob
Bugeye88

2roverlabs
05-29-2014, 10:53 AM