PDA

View Full Version : 77 Lightweight engine overhaul

benji77
08-18-2014, 11:11 PM
So,
I have owned my lightweight since early april '14 and have managed to do a few things with it. before i get into my questions i will tell you a bit-
2.25 petrol
RHD
weber 34 ich
ducellier distr with pertronix ignition

I put on parabolics, new brake cylinders, new carb, and multiple ignition parts. as i worked on the ignition, i noticed, it didn't make much difference to the idle if the 4th cylinder had spark or not. so, after running through some checks i have determined that a valve job is in order. i plan on having the head overhauled, but my uncertainty comes from the pistons. do i need to replace pistons? number 4 looks worse than the others but honestly they all look pretty rough. this is my first time to break one apart so any information is appreciated.

i wasn't planning on any other engine changes/repairs but if i end up replacing pistons i might think about installing the 2.5 cam as well.

the vehicle had very poor performance due to many factors. it seems that running lean for too long has caused the issues i am facing now. i have been trying to find a rochester b carb to replace the weber but haven't found one yet. the weber is new, the old weber had many issues and i replaced it before doing my homework.

thanks for any/all the help!

here is a picture of my lightweight

SafeAirOne
08-18-2014, 11:44 PM
First off, nice air-portable! Boy, I love those...

Next, How did you determine that you needed a valve job, as opposed to, say...just a simple spark plug, plug wire or distributor cap? By the looks of it, and as you noticed, there wasn't a whole lot of combustion taking place in #4, though it does seem like fuel/air was getting into the cylinder.