PDA

View Full Version : New Member 1974 Series III Frame Off Restore

leavundst
10-22-2014, 11:05 AM
Hi Guys, Feel free to yell at me if I should not be posting this here. I'm hoping I can leverage the thread as both a record for my self, a way to gather help, and maybe as a learning tool for others. Anyway

About 6 months ago I found a 1974 Series 3 LWB that looked fairly clean with possibly low mileage if owner was to be believed but frame damage. I thought the truck looked great so I brought her home. Here is how she sat at the owners home. She was parked for a few years.

On the trailer for the trip home, about 700 mile drive....

leavundst
10-22-2014, 11:15 AM
The front fender was off because that's where the frame rusted through. I am by no means a mechanic, in fact I work in IT, but I do like wrenching and have family in the auto repair business as well as a friend with a pretty decent machine shop in his garage. I also did something similar before with with a CJ and decided to punish myself again but this time with something cooler. By the way here are my CJ before and after pics....

http://images16.fotki.com/v382/photos/2/584422/13350921/IMG_20130817_165456-vi.jpg

But back to the Land Rover. With a little bit of help I managed to bring the rover to my uncles shop where I stripped the front to evaluate the frame damage. What seems to have happened is multiple accidents or maybe minor rust that was repaired with patches that were applied over patches. Basically the first two or so feet of the frame need to be replaced.

Partially ***** rover pic :-)

Frame cracks:

leavundst
10-22-2014, 11:29 AM
Now I can do a little welding but this was way beyond my ability. Plus my daughter was just born and the wife had that "I'm going to kill you if you start spending your weekends in the shop" look in her eyes so I paid a pro welder to repair the front.

Here is a sample of the damage: