PDA

View Full Version : Frankenstein 67 (69?) 88"...Need some Advice

uncbsba
06-29-2015, 08:39 PM
So I need some expert advice. I am looking at purchasing a 67 SIIA that appears to be in good mechanical shape but has a potentially major red flag. The Rover experts i sent the pics to are confident this is in fact a 69 bug-eye (based on the dash, wings, heater, brakes, seats, etc). The truck has a clean title and the serial number (on the title, not the body) shows a 66 production with a 67. It has a new galvanized frame (aka no SN on frame), parabolic springs, OME shocks, 3spd with OD, Boosted drums, etc. The SN plate on the body was removed but the owner has ordered another from the factory (using the SN on the title).

My concerns are probably obvious, but I am new to the Rover community. Is this a major red flag on these Series or is this par for the course? Is $12k too much based on the mixed past (if so, does anyone have an idea on the market for something like this?)? Here is a link to some photos of the truck to give you a better idea of condition... http://s1287.photobucket.com/user/Joeboblglt/library/1967%20Series%20IIa

Any advice or opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help.

J

lumpydog
06-29-2015, 09:27 PM
What's the serial number? It's no earlier than a 69. Someone added an older 2a breakfast and filled in the older wing mounted headlamp holes - which are holes, not squares... bugeye

The serial number, dollars to doughnuts, falls between 24435243F and 24436302F...

As these trucks go, it has some things going for it... galvy frame, parabolic springs, overdrive....

But, there is a lot a prior owner artwork... uninformed repairs, hack jobs and stuff you will have to undo. If you want a project, there a worse choices... but, for the price - there are better choices.