PDA

View Full Version : Rear main seal

Zimbos
01-25-2016, 05:24 PM
I'm a little discouraged today. I got a quote for replacing the rear main on my new 79 series 3 ,88 inch . It was over 2k by someone who is familiar with series. Is this normal maybe not sure need advice , Gareth,Dallas. Thank you

offshoretitan
01-25-2016, 07:11 PM
If the Series 3 is new to you and you don't know how much it's been driven of late prior to your acquisition, you might try some seal softener first. If it's just a little hard from sitting and dripping a bit, some seal softener might just take care of your problem. There are clearly different opinions about these products but I've used them in a 1960 and a 1965 Cadillac (both of which had been sitting for a good while) and seen substantial improvement. I've also heard that synthetic oils have a better performance in weak seals than traditional oils but I have no personal experience with that as both cases I'm referring to were quite a while ago. You need to drive your car several hundred miles before the seal softener can have an effect... Bottom line - $10 worth of seal softener or $50 worth of a synthetic oil change might be worth a try. Hope that helps some.

Zimbos
01-25-2016, 07:24 PM
Thank you. I was being used on a ranch but at very low speeds, I've been on the road with it around 40mph it's leaking pretty bad ,I'll try the sealer

lumpydog
01-25-2016, 08:29 PM
I'll be interested to hear how the softener works.

Other thing to consider: Crank case pressure. Sometimes people will mess with the emissions equipment - remove it. Done carelessly, it leaves the crank case with no way to vent or neutralize pressure. Do you have a connected PCV valve?

Other sources of pressure include worn rings, allowing blow-by - what's your compression for each cylinder?

Zimbos
01-25-2016, 09:01 PM
It's venting good ill check compression tomorrow thanks

o2batsea
01-26-2016, 11:53 AM
The engine must come out. This is a pretty big deal.

Contractor