PDA

View Full Version : Disco I overheats when the AC is turned on

ramosr
07-10-2007, 12:50 PM
My 1996 Disco I overheats when I turn on the air conditioning. The temp gauge runs dead center when the air conditioning is off. The antifreeze level was fine. Shoud I replace the the thermostat? The water pump was replaced about a year ago. Does anyone have any experience with this problem? Thanks...

landrover77
07-11-2007, 09:19 PM
Howzit man.
I am not an expert by any means - but when you replace a water pump its common practice to replace the fan clutch - check your fan - does it wobble when stationary or in motion? If so it may be running inefficiently
The thermostat may indeed also be in need of replacing (fairly cheap fix)
-One other mention along these lines is the engine coolant lines/hoses-
your Disco may need a coolant flush (clogging lines/not clogged yet).

When you run the AC the engine requires more energy(= heat) and that
with the other above or other possibilities, could be the reason(s).
For my 95 Disco, it nearly never gets to the half-way marker on the
temp gauge. And I attribute that fact to when I was living in Hawaii-
I had a coolant flush done. The mechanic told me white globs of
(I guess) engine coolant came out during the process. I also replaced the thermostat the same day.

Oh- one more thing, maybe this is something you dont need to be told
but if the engine oil is all crapped up that will = more heat.

nosivad_bor
07-14-2007, 05:08 PM
My 1996 Disco I overheats when I turn on the air conditioning. The temp gauge runs dead center when the air conditioning is off. The antifreeze level was fine. Shoud I replace the the thermostat? The water pump was replaced about a year ago. Does anyone have any experience with this problem? Thanks...

are the two condenser fans running when you turn on the air? if not replace those first, but i think really a newradiator would solve all your problems.

check this thread for the same issue