PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, question about FFR Series 3

gasbuggy
09-28-2016, 02:44 AM
Hi, I am new to Land Rovers but have been bit by the bug. I am very mechanically inclined, not a professional, but I am equipped to work on one of these. I was offered a chance to buy what looks like a well kept right hand drive FFR Land Rover. All the radio equipment is missing. It needs a little TLC, and in my opinion some fresh paint, appears someone went at it with a house paint roller. I understand that these are less common and have 24v systems. I was hoping that members of this forum could give me a better idea what a fair value is? Records of sales are uncommon. It has about 70,000 miles on it, engine looks like it was refreshed at some point. Trans is leaking at the rear, one rear axle is also. It has radial tires which I does not look proper. But all in all it's not bad. I like the curved rear glass in the corners of the cab and I find the truck look to be very cool.

Thanks for reading my post.

cedryck
09-28-2016, 07:17 AM
Welcome, and congratulations. Not sure on the value to be honest, someone here will chime in with that. I can tell you that my 88 was a 24 volt military Rover. When I purchased it 18 years ago (for 3 thousand $) it was pretty rough. I did a total rebuild and converted to 12 volt. I do know that 24 volt items tend to be expensive, but are available. I also know that brush or roller painting is pretty common on military trucks. The "cammo" paint was usually done by hand. Most gearbox, transfer box, axles, are leaky by design. Keep checking this site, more people will have something to say, cheers.

Hauser
09-28-2016, 11:56 AM
I just bought a rover myself a little more than a month ago, here are my thoughts.