PDA

View Full Version : Can't install battery(question of the Year!) Disco trys to start! Disco💔

discochai
11-22-2016, 12:07 PM
SALTY1244YA282492
2000 Land Rover Discovery 2
I've had her(2000 Land Rover Discovery 2)a few weeks(although a loose and corroded negative battery cable was under the hood)with no issues then Power went out(everything even hazard lights).Long story short I Took battery out cleaned frail and corroded wire(negative)replaced with New battery(reading 12.6-12.8),Connected positive cable then TRIED to connect Negative cable but it SPARKS and WELDS to terminal and She tries to Start-up (No key in)!?
I'm No mechanic at All.Im reporting every detail in hopes to aid someone¿ If key is turned and then you touch negative cable to negative terminal she starts right up(can't keep Neg to terminal cause sparks/welds!)but sounds like starter(or?)keeps running.Remember cable will fuse/melt/weld(scary)to battery terminal.
So I disconnected the starter wire from selanod(starter)then touch negative battery cable to battery terminal(No I don't have them crossed)and She STILL tries to start with no key in ignition & no starter wire on starter solenoid???!!Help!! Thanks to everyone for your Time & compassion!
°SE Georgia USA.(Golden Isles)
*could a faulty selonod cause such battery issues?
*ignition issues maybe? I'm learning the concept of "electrical grounds" right now. I've been on earth over 35 yr and learned more(auto stuff/electric)in the past week do to my always wanting a LR! "Live lazy or get a Land Rover" lol. And no I'm not lazy or stupid just never had a vehicle and been single father with disabled child for decades! Blessings & GoodVibes to All. 1💙 Disco Chai

discochai
11-22-2016, 12:12 PM
Other misc.. No ac, no cruise control.
Loose key, kinda tricky to turn(No key fob).
Cracked rear plastic bumper cover meaning lights are kinda taped up but work. And