PDA

View Full Version : Mysterious mushroom hammer...

vlad_d
02-06-2022, 01:50 AM
So, I'm still relatively new to Land Rover mechanical repairs. I've been a DIY/shade tree mechanic for American cars for over 20 years...just new to British cars. I've been watching some great YouTube videos from the usual suspects, and I keep seeing something weird:

All these British guys seem to use these weird little mushroom headed hammers. It's like every Land Rover mechanic has one. So, I'm starting to go nuts trying to find one. I'm using every keyword on Amazon and Google. They have a short handle, maybe just palm size. And the head looks like a mushroom. No, get your head out of the gutter, that's not what I'm talking about. But it's driving me crazy. I have been buying up specialty tools: driveshaft bolt socket tool, hub nut tool, those slotted tools for taking out gear oil plugs. Okay, so I'm thinking I need a little gnome mushroom hammer for some reason. I mean, they must have a special purpose in LR mechanical repair.

Fast forward to yesterday, when I'm using my brass hammer to drive out a pressed in part. I've only had this hammer for about 3 months. It's my first brass hammer. I never needed one before the LR. Well, it's starting to bulge out at the business end. It finally hits me - I'm dumb. The mysterious weird British gnome mushroom hammer is just a brass hammer that's been used a bunch. These guys on the YouTubes are just showing off how many times they used their tools. Like, "look at me, my hammer looks like a comical elf tool because my pappy and his pappy used it!"

All of this is fine. It's fine. I just feel stupid for searching for "elf mushroom hammer" with a straight face. [face palm]

biffidum
02-06-2022, 08:40 AM
Do you mean a ball peen hammer?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ball-peen_hammer

jimrr
02-06-2022, 11:34 AM