PDA

View Full Version : Best $20 I've spent

LH Drive
08-21-2007, 02:43 AM
I only got one ignition key to the Rover when I bought her. It did'nt open or even fit the door lock cylinder. I've been driving my Series SW for a few months now without locking her up but it does'nt feel right whe she's out of sight. So yesterday I removed the driver side anti-burst door lock and took it to the nearest locksmith to get a key made. He said no problem and even had key blanks. He charged me $20 to make the first key. I installed the door lock in the parking lot and tried the other locks,,they all work. I had to adjust the catch on the door jams but that only took a min.
Wow, now I can rest easy knowing she's locked away...wait....better go back and make spare keys so I dont get locked out.

ducttape
08-21-2007, 06:26 AM
Ah yes, but remember, locks only keep out honest people. (Sorry, I hate to burst your bubble)

The best protection is just keeping an eye on it.

I find everyplace I go there are always people looking in it, gawking, etc. I would have to assume, even surrounded by heartless, cold New Yorkers, someone would say something if a guy appeared to be 'breaking in'

If not, it is certaionly easy to describe to the police for the 'APB'. Big, green, camo. If the drivers looks sketchy instead of excentric, that's your stolen vehicle!

jp-
08-21-2007, 08:31 AM
If not, it is certaionly easy to describe to the police for the 'APB'. Big, green, camo. If the drivers looks sketchy instead of excentric, that's your stolen vehicle!

It's sad, but the police really don't care about stolen vehicles, at least not down here. It's so bad that one lady called 911 after she was car jacked and said that her baby was in the car. They found the car in a few hours, but she had no baby. They charged her with a felony I think. Unless you have Lowjack, you're not getting your car back quickly (or often times in one piece).