PDA

View Full Version : Heater

PH4
08-23-2007, 12:15 PM
I have a Smiths heater that I am thinking about installing but before I do so was curious if it is worth the trouble or should I wait and save up for a mansfield from RN. I am in Charleston, SC so the winters are mild. Any experience/thoughts. Also, if I go the Mansfield route is there anyway to install in IIA without cuting hole in side panel?

yorker
08-23-2007, 01:35 PM
Which Smiths do you have?:confused:

PH4
08-23-2007, 07:27 PM
Round type

luckyjoe
08-24-2007, 08:55 AM
As always, my first suggestion is to look for a Kodiak Mk.III or Mk.IV. If your truck didn't come with one, I wouldn't wast time with the round smiths. I have no experience with the Mansfield heater, and I've heard they perform well, but they are big bucks.

The kodiak Mk.IV has the fan mounted in the engine bay, with the fresh air intake routed to the front grill. This arrangement provides a forced fresh air feed. I use this as the 'low-speed' and it keeps the interior of my 109 really toasty. Flick on the fan and the heat is overwhelming. No intake hole in the wing either, so maybe you could do similar with the Mansfield...

Regards,

yorker
08-24-2007, 09:14 AM
The round Smiths is probably the polar opposite of the Mansfield heater. In South Carolina it might be adequate though and if you have it you may as well use it.

If you find it is too little for your uses you can always use it as an auxiliary heater, and there are a lot of other options out there besides the Mansfield one too.

PH4
08-24-2007, 09:47 AM
I am mostly concerned with the defrost/mist aspect of the front windshield, although, a little heat would not hurt a few days out of the year. My daily driver, 1972 109 SW, is stock with virtually no PO modifications and I am always reluctant to install something unless it is truly worth it. I was under the impression that Kodiaks were almost impossible to find and if you did were as expensive as Mansfield.

luckyjoe