PDA

View Full Version : Clutch Woes!

ajones
10-21-2007, 09:31 PM
Help! I am two clutch slave cylinders into a repair(s) and am scratching my head. Several weeks ago (too many to admit) I was coming out of a parking lot when I heard a pop, clutch pedal goes to the floor, engine revs. I use a few descriptive technical terms as I coast into a parking spot. Get out fluid dripping, so I think hydraulic prob, could be worse. After a tow home, I investigate and find the piston of the slave cylinder wedged in the end of cylinder at angle. I pull it out and order a brand spankin' new one and hose. Hook it up, bolt it in, bleed it and re-attach linkage. Get in the cab, pump the pedal a couple of times thinking, oh this is cake, when I hear fluid hitting asphalt! Same thing piston wedged in the end of cylinder. My associates tell me I have a clutch linkage issue allowing the piston to travel too far down the cylinder, but is it possible I have a master cylinder not allowing pressure to bleed after you take your foot off the pedal thus building up pressure in the system until...Bham!
Any ideas? VMT.

daveb
10-21-2007, 10:04 PM
scratching won't do any good. did you check the linkage? did you maybe break one of the clevis pins where the crossshaft enters the bellhousing?

assuming it is a IIa 'box

Help! I am two clutch slave cylinders into a repair(s) and am scratching my head.

scott
10-22-2007, 02:17 AM
alex

i had a simular issue. it came after i r/r my master cylinder. i had mal adjusted it such that the m/c piston did not return to a position that let the fluid bleed back. pressure builds up and i blew out the slave flex line. have you messed w/ the m/c?

ajones
10-22-2007, 08:18 AM
I haven't done anything to the m/c, and the clevis pin where the vertical rod connects to the cross shaft is good. Is it possible that the opening that allows the pressure to bleed off from the m/c has become clogged?

luckyjoe
10-22-2007, 08:30 AM